Skip to content

Death Knighting Your UI: Part 3

September 29, 2010

Old UI (Featuring Crando, Fire Mage supreme)

After multiple explosions and the metal mess of what one would think would be the corpses of a thousand robot soldiers our hero has finished his search…

It took me awhile to actually perfect my UI but in the end I believe it was worth every hour of my time. To begin with, my UI didn’t change that much, but I do believe that I made it a lot more efficient than my old one. Anywho, in this last installment I’m going to give 1) a review of my UI and 2) the basics of configuring Addons.

My New UI

Not in combat

My plan from the beginning was to put more focus towards the middle, less of the crap at the top of the screen and more information displayed where it can be found easily. The main thing I love about my new UI is that the chat box is right in the middle of the information box at the bottom. I can see everything a lost easier and it feels much more natural.

There is information littering the bottom portion of my screen and I enjoy that, actually. The middle of the screen is reserved for the actual game be it boss fights or whatever, I cleaned it up a bit more and it suits me better. In addition to that I have scrolling battle text to load up my screen with more useful strands of information while in combat. (It gets a little crowded with the text so I decided to pick a picture without it to showcase my UI first.)

Different UIs have different appeals to people. However the goal is the same no matter how you slice it. Clearly if you want to make a UI/change your current one you want your UI to be more efficient and/or better looking. Personally I wanted to make the new UI similar to my old set up, but it would provide a lot more information.

Some of it is random tidbits, however most of it is extremely useful for my ability to Tank such as my DKI Runes, Disease Timer, Pitbull Frames, Grid/Grid Mana Bars, Tidy Plates: Threat, Mik’s Scrolling Battle Text and Omen Threat Meter. There are many more Addons in my UI as well, but those are the main ones that come to mind for my Tanking.

To be honest I don’t want to show you exactly how to get one like mine (not to assume that other people actually like it), but that’s just an example of what a custom-made UI could be.

How long could this take me to get a UI of my very own?

While it isn’t overly difficult it can take a few hours to get the UI to a perfect point. Just as an estimate it took me about 3 hours of planning and work in order to get my UI to its current, finished state that it’s in now. For some it could take less, some it could take more. It just depends on how intricate you’d like your UI to be.

Regardless of the time it takes it’s worth it to create your UI if you do believe that the Blizzard UI doesn’t suit your tastes.

Configuring Addons

While I can’t tell you exactly how to configure each and every possible Addon out there I can give you a basic idea of what it takes.

First of all, there are two different ways to access the Addon options for any given Addon. Either you hit the Esc key—>Interface(Addon Tab) then find the Addon’s name and you will be able to view the options for any given Addon. The other way of doing so is to type /[insert Addon name here]  and a list of other commands will be displayed.

To be honest it’s fairly simple after you access the options for any single Addon. You can change the transparency, color, size, position, and much more for most Addons (all of those options aren’t always available, but you get the idea).

Of course there are various guides and videos on the internet that will show you how to configure Addons. It never hurts to read/watch these guides even if it isn’t exactly how you want because they will help you better understand exactly how the Addons work.

While on that note, the best way to find out what you want is to toy around with your UI. Keep tuning it up when you feel something is a little off. Maybe change it depending on the Role you are currently playing.

It’s not difficult, it can just be a little bit of a time sink to do, but as I’ve said before it’s definitely a worth-while learning experience.

Happy WoWing

-Elno

P.S. Plagued Candles is now officially back on track, expect posts much more frequently!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 3, 2013 11:03 AM

    Hey there! This post couldn’t be written much better!
    Looking over this post reminds me of my trusted old fashioned room mate!

    That he always kept referring to this. I will forward this write-up to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

