Skip to content

I am become Death, beta tester of worlds.

August 6, 2010
by

Followers of my Twitter may have noticed that I got into the Cataclysm beta, mostly because I have a Mac and Blizzard is eager to test on Crapple hardware. So, lucky me, I now am testing my ass off! And its much funner than I’m making it sound. Preliminary observations:

Assassination has energy regen problems on anything you don’t put a Garrote/Rupture on. So, basically, during questing your energy regen might be slow unless you were Garroting and 1-point Rupturing like I was; Focused Attacks has been ousted in favor of Venomous Wounds, which gives a 60% chance to give 6 10 energy on every tick of Garrote and/or Rupture, and also gives a chance to do additional Poison damage on your bleed ticks. This means, effectively, that Rupture is your God, and Vanish is even better than it was; as well as still giving the always welcome Overkill buff, it also gives Rogues a chance to reapply Garrote, which means that you’ll be getting 17 energy a second for the duration of an Overkill, Rupture and Garrote when all three are up at once (Overkill [30% more energy regen, which is 3 energy more per second] + Venomous Wounds [12 energy with both Garrote and Rupture up every 3 seconds, which equates to 4 energy a second]). This is kind of amazing.

On the Combat side, Killing Spree is your new bff; you will love KS, and KS will love you. Restless Blades means that every Eviscerate chops off 10 seconds from your AR and KS cooldowns, which means that AR is now even better than it was (scary thought). AR now also gives the Blade Flurry attack speed buff, with Blade Flurry losing the attack speed buff and reducing energy regen by 20% in exchange for the auto Cleaves.

I have yet to test the effect of Haste on energy regen, so don’t bug me about that yet.

Combat text is bugged, so its hard to get an impression of what damage is like at the moment; my character tooltip says I should be meleeing on my Rogue for ~1200 with my MH, but I’m hitting for much less.

Fury plays much faster now, with Heroic Strike having become fun, Bloodthirst’s CD being reduced by a second and Fury Warriors gaining Raging Blow, which is Mutilate with two-handers on a six-second CD that requires you to be Enraged. Keybind your Bloodrage and Berserker Rage to something much more accessible now. Fury also, finally, got its own Enrage effect like the other trees have had, with Fury’s Enrage having a 9% chance to proc for 10% more damage for 4 seconds. In addition, Bloodsurge now procs off of every Bloodthirst or Raging Blow, but has a cooldown of 6 seconds.

The new Fury rotation: Bloodthirst -> Raging Blow -> Slam -> Bloodthirst -> free GCD -> repeat. Mix in some Heroic Strikes/Cleaves/Executes and a Colossus Smash or two and you’re set.

On the sad side of Warrior news: Bloodrage is now on the GCD.

Mastery is also the shit: though only implemented for a few classes, the Fury Mastery buffs any ability that Enrages you. This means, with 5 Mastery, my Death Wish buffs my damage by 36% (up from 20%), my Bloodrage gives 36 Rage instantly and 18 more over 10 seconds, and Berzerker Rage lasts almost double its standard duration. However, Fury’s Mastery does not buff the talent Enrage. 😦

And that’s about it. If anyone has any requests for the beta, feel free to comment and I’ll try to get back to them.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brad permalink
    August 17, 2010 10:44 PM

    I am become death.

    CANADIANS LEARN AMERICAN YOU NOOBS!!

Leave a Reply

