Skip to content

*Cough* Death Knight *Cough*

July 15, 2010

I was trippin' I swears

An almost forgotten  face of a hero is glaring at you, apparently he still hasn’t learned what “retirement” really is…

Awhile back I decided it would be best for me to stop writing Plagued Candles altogether. I believe it was after I started writing about Mages, sure I like playing them even if Crando was my main for a while, but there’s something about them I just don’t like to write about.

I missed writing about WoW when I started writing We Require More Rupees, it sucks not being able to write a really intelligent guide that you think people will use. Hell people may have not read the guides on Plagued Candles, but I’ve got evidence that they were looked over! EVIDENCE.

All in all, I missed being a Death Knight.

How should I go about fixing this problem?

For one part, I should break this retirement of writing Plagued Candles. I think I should be writing about Death Knight Tanking until I quit (if that ever happens). No more Mage stuff, I rarely get the chance to play Crando and I really don’t like writing about Mages.

I want to write about WoW there’s just so much to do that I haven’t done yet, so let’s get started!

Cataclysm

I’m not in the closed beta so I can’t really give an accurate description or anything, but how about some speculation/thoughts on the new styles of DK Tanking.

One Tree, One People– Before the talent trees or any of that was figured out Blizzard had said awhile ago that “balancing” 3 separate trees for Tanking as a Death Knight was not going to happen in Cataclysm. Instead the Blood tree will  be the official tanking tree for all Death Knight Tanks, in addition to that, that means that there will be no Blood DPS Death Knights. Every Tanking Talent that we NEED will be relocated into the Blood Tree.

Presence Switch, GO GO GO- Rather than using our Frost Pres. for Tanking we will be using Blood Presence. It just makes more sense, have the presence for Tanking be the same as the Talent Tree for Tanking. If you don’t like it well that’s nice, just stop talking and we can move on with our lives.

Dancing Rune Weapon, USEFUL!?– When I first glanced at our new 31-point talent tree for Blood I noticed Dancing Rune Weapon being our 31 point talent. Needless to say I roared into the sky and questioned the being of an actual god. Then I decided to read the description and found out it’s a not half bad Tanking OH SHI- button. In addition to doing 50% of your damage (more threat for you?) it also grants a 20% extra chance to Parry while it’s up.

Mmm avoidance + extra chances for a Rune Strike + damage from DRW, sign me the hell up!?

Oh yeah, new Talent System- This goes for everyone including the Master Race, the Death Knight Tank. Basically, if I understand it correctly at level 10 you will choose your spec. From there you gain that spec’s mastery abilities/perks be it a specific spell/abilities or passive stat bonuses or what have you. You also gain your first Talent Point which MUST go into the tree that you chose. From there you gain 1 talent point every 2 levels and until you have 31 talent points into your main tree you will put each point into the tree you chose.

After your minimum 31 points are in your main tree you are allowed to a) keep putting them in there or b) put them in another tree.

Like I said I’m not in the beta and I’m not the lord and savior of man kind so these are just opinions, feel free to debate and whatnot in the comments.

Thoughts to Ponder

I’m sure a few of my thoughts/concerns have been answered already, but I may as well throw them out into the blue unknown for ya’ll to scold me about.

Dual Wield Tanking– While not a common Raiding setup the Death Knight Tank did have to ability to be able to wield 2 weapons and Tank with them. Blizzard even made a rune especially for one-handed weapons to be made Tank-worthy. I noticed that we’d probably be able to reach the Nerves of Cold Steel talent with the current version of Death Knight Talents, but would it be worth it at that? My guess is it’s probably not going to happen, although I guess disappointing to some, I’m not all that annoyed.

It’d be interesting for them to be viable alongside the usual 2h Tank but I’m fairly certain that they really would be without that extra threat boost from Threat of Thassarian.

Haste for Tanks?- Haste is what makes our runes refresh faster in Cataclysm. It’s going to have other uses for other classes, but for Death Knights it seems as if in theory it will be good. Are we going to be getting it on our gear? I mean I know that there won’t be much of a difference in DPS/Tanking plate gear since Drating is gone. *shrug*

Those are just two thoughts I have right now that I’m just going to throw out there. I’ll search for answers for sure, though!

I guess that’s all I’ve got for now.

Just remember, this Death Knight is back.

Happy WoWing!
-Elno

P.S. Just a suggestion, but for those of you who haven’t converted to Blood Death Knight Tanking may want to give it a shot. I’m not sure how much it will change in Cataclysm, but it may not be a bad idea to try it out and learn the abilities that you will most-likely be using for a long, long time.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2010 2:53 PM

    Yay! Welcome back!! I missed ya. 😀

    Blood? Now?? But but … Howling Blast … *whimper* … sorries, I like my single-disease 2H frost build too much to give it up. They can pry it from my cold undead hands when Cata hits, or when they patch in the new talent trees, or whatever … not before.

    • July 16, 2010 6:53 PM

      Hah, they say the hardest words to say are good-bye!

  2. July 22, 2010 7:43 AM

    Well, actually, although my main is a Holy paladin, I also have a Blood DK tank. And I love it! I can take so much abuse, it’s criminal! Who needs healers if you have Rune Tap every 30 seconds? And Heart Strike?

    I think I need to go play soon, or I’ll go nuts.

  3. July 22, 2010 12:14 PM

    WB Craig!

    I’m really hoping for a beta invite, but as I’ve mentioned elsewhere, I can wait a bit while Blizz gets its crap together. DKs – and the ‘new’ talent trees in general – are a complete mess. The beta is very buggy. Content is still much less than half implemented.

    BUT, I do want in. I want in very badly. Hopefully in about a month. 🙂

    • July 23, 2010 5:58 PM

      Hah same!

      Although I have to say I don’t think we’re as bad off as a few others. Rogues/Hunters seem to be in really rough shape from what I’ve read.

      But hey, it’s still beta they’ll fix everything soon enough!

Leave a Reply

