Skip to content

Fire vs. Arcane 3.3.3

March 23, 2010

This image has absolutely nothing to do with the following post, move along now!

Patch 3.3.3 came out today as (hopefully) most of you know. This patch changes EVERYTHING, well, not exactly, but it theoretically should put Fire and even Frost in a better position than they previously were. Personally, Frost was never interesting to me, I leveled as it and there just was not enough going on. Even after that, the buffs given to it don’t make it that much closer to Arcane, sorry!

My concerns here would be with Fire. Previously I wanted to try out Fire a few weeks ago, but I decided that it would be much more comparable in 3.3.3 when it actually should be closer to Arcane. So, without further adieu I set out with my Mage, some Mint Tea, and a bucket full of dreams to the Target Dummies.

Rules: Each test was conducted for 2:00 minutes without any cool downs or buffs other than Arcane Intellect or Molten Armor (various procs included). The only target was the Boss Level target dummy in Orgrimmar for the entire test.

Prediction: Arcane will definitely be on top, but I’m sure Fire will be fairly close to it. Worst comes to worst, it just gives me a brighter look into the visual stimulus/play style  of Fire!

Arcane

#1- 3925 DPS
#2- 3850 DPS

Fire

#1-4136 DPS
#2-3984 DPS

Reflections: Wait… WHAT!? I know this was poor science, but that’s a decent difference. Not to mention Fire didn’t get the justice it deserved as I was not accustomed to actually watching DoTs and random-as-hell procs. It threw me off guard, but it was definitely. The experience is a fun one so I think I’m going to stick with Fire for a few.

By that I mean err… I have to uhh… testing… ugh… I LOVE FIRE!

Does Gear Affect Fire?

Indeed it does, a Fire spec does NOT have any +Hit% talents to lower the cap from 17% to a more reasonable number, so with this being said it’s EXTREMELY difficult to be able to play Fire without a lot of Hit Rating. Hit Rating comes from gear, so that is in fact one way that gear affects Fire.

It doesn’t end there either, Fire is fairly dependent on Critical Hits to do some decent damage, which means you are going to need a fair amount of Crit Rating to be able to play as a Fire Mage. I do not recommend gemming for Crit as much of our T9/T10 gear comes with a decent amount of Crit on it.

To make a long story short, I would have to say that Fire is very dependent on your gear. If you do not have 17% hit or don’t have a decent amount of Crit (35% there with Molten Armor, about?) I would not suggest going Fire YET. However, if you are looking for a fun Heroics spec, feel free to try it out as its AOE is MUCH stronger/more fun than Arcane’s.

Which is actually BETTER?

I will not be giving a complete number crunch on that anytime soon, I’ll let EJ do the deciding there, but I would definitely say it is certainly a lot better off than it was pre 3.3.3. My belief is to do what you think is fun, but try out everything. Hell, maybe I’ll go back to Arcane, maybe I won’t, they’re both fun specs so don’t let my opinion change your mind completely.

Damn though, 12k Pyroblast crits make me feel fuzzy inside.

Happy WoWing!
-Craig

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Thomas Jespersen permalink
    March 24, 2010 1:42 AM

    Rawr is showing Fire ahead of Arcane in 3.3.3 given a static Patchwerk-like fight:

    http://elitistjerks.com/f75/t37825-rawr_mage/p49/#post1595363

  2. Crystar permalink
    March 25, 2010 8:28 AM

    If you were testing at dummy, be careful that a living bomb at the boss dummy may damage the nearby non-boss ones during the explosion.

  3. William permalink
    March 25, 2010 8:29 PM

    12k pyros are a joke arcane blast can crit nearly 30k it has a fraction of the cast time and is spammable and you don’t have to wait on a proc

    • Nocry permalink
      April 6, 2010 6:12 AM

      Fire 11k pyro 13k 24k 1 cast

      • mixie permalink
        June 8, 2010 5:13 AM

        actuly i hit near too 16k-18k FB’s and 20-24k pyro’s in 10 fire has more burst but longer cast time and does not need CDS too do that damage there for fire is best end game a fire mage will start of with like 6k dps when the arcane mage starts with 10-12k but he can only keep it at 10 12k with CDs sooo there for the fire mage will castch up on the arcane mages cd down times and blow the arcane out of the charts with about 10k end dps and arcane mage would end with about 9k arcane is great for differnt fight that fire is bad at like when u need to dps hard for some reason u cant boost your dps much with out a haste pot…. what u have once. arcane how ever is for people with out the gear too do good dps… its like a face roll giving u about 300 extra sp and bonus damage from AB stacks..

  4. March 27, 2010 9:39 AM

    Been beating arcane mages in overall damage and DPS since the patch. Even had a couple ask me, “Why are you fire, don’t you know arcane is better.” Then I put out a quarter more damage than them and 1k+ more dps on average. Gotta love how tough the sheepish arcane mages are hanging on to their lost glory.

    • March 27, 2010 4:17 PM

      For sure. Arcane is still viable, but Fire definitely seems to trump it at the moment which is delicious!

  5. Dianic permalink
    March 29, 2010 7:09 PM

    One thing I noticed:

    T10 Haste Proc is almost up 100% of the time when you run Fire. It falls off a lot when running arcane.

  6. andy permalink
    April 15, 2010 2:05 PM

    Remember that fire spec needs slightly different gear than arcane . If you were using arcane gear you were probably lacking of hit.

Leave a Reply

