Skip to content

Go, Go, Go, Go, Go Explode!

February 18, 2010

Don’t stop me now, I’m havin’ such a good time, I’m havin’ a ball!…

(An internet cookie to whoever knows the song!)

Recently I’ve suffered a minor burnout in WoW. I’m not sure what has caused it, but my will to play has just plummeted. I just have not felt the need to log on, and playing the DK can just wear me out when I’m not Raiding.

The spark is coming back every time I log on my Mage, or play my Hunter whom I’ve started playing again. And it’s made me wonder if I have been focusing on the wrong character the entire time.

Is it too much of the Dk? Too much WoW? No, not at all. The Mage and Hunter are just new to me, I want to absorb everything I see and get in there and use the knowledge.

So, to cope with the burnout and keep things fresh, I’ve been reading, hanging around with friends, but also I have checked out this new F2P (Free To Play) game. Allods Online is the name of it and it is surprisingly fun. It is based around two factions, the League and the Empire and you are plopped into the middle of the fray between the two.

I even joined a PvP-based Guild with quite a few IRL friends, needless to say it has been very refreshing. Why PvP? Well, the entire game is mostly focused around the factions’ war and likewise at the level cap (40) it can get pretty intense. Sure I’ll check out the PvE content, but fighting to the death on large ships in the middle of space? HELL YES!

Needless to say, it gives me the PvP feeling of WoW in TBC where world PvP was a constant and the tension between the factions was easily visible.

So have I given up on WoW? No, but I have been feeling a bit of a burnout (thus the lack of posting) so I think I am going to give it a bit of a rest. I’ll just play a little bit less and it will become fresh once again until I’m back to where I was a few weeks ago.

Expect a Death Knight Tank and You: post soon(ish)!

Happy WoWing
-Elno

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 1:12 PM

    Don’t Stop Me Now, Queen 1978. Don’t know the album… so maybe a partial fail. Now I’ll be humming this all night… Maybe half an internet cookie (but with sprinkles?)

    Boo for burnout, take a break and come back refreshed. To paraphrase the belfs.. how can you miss something if you don’t go away /grin.

    • February 21, 2010 11:19 AM

      For sure. I think I am just going to take a complete break. I just went camping this weekend and it felt great not to come back NEEDING to play WoW.

Leave a Reply

