Skip to content

Elno’s Word- Mages

February 2, 2010

About a week ago I had officially achieved my goal of getting my 3rd 80 in WoW. This was my Arcane Mage, Crando. Needless to say he is fairly fun to play. There is just something about him that I just adore playing, yet I do not have any intentions of dropping Elnoriah for he is still much too enjoyable.

The difference in scenery is really what suffices my hunger for minor change. I am so used to getting the piss beaten out of me and standing within mere inches of horrendous dragons, demons, and scourge that I forgot what it is like to actually be ranged DPS.

Oh god, Nostalgia-

Before I even thought of picking up my [now retired] Priest I had played a Warlock from the day I joined WoW. His name was Swordemon, and being a naïve boy he was a joke to most people. I never took the game seriously, I was in it for the ride not the outcome. Quests could sometimes take longer than they ever should because I was amazed at the look of the game, or just the deliciousness of Swordy annihilating everything in sight.

This was also when all of my RL friends played faithfully, and all of us leveled together in a large pack. It was probably one of the most fun experiences I’ve ever had in the game. Many of my good friends were met when Swordemon was my main, and the Mage just brings back all of those memories.

It’s not to say that the Mage and Lock are similar Classes, but to me Cloth DPS is just what I live for. In D&D, Diablo, or any other RPG I am always the spell-slinger of the group. So the Mage just seems like a familiar friend on and off the field of WoW.

Looking back on it, I probably should not have deleted my Lock. Anger streaks definitely suck ass…

PvE

So far I have yet to do a Raid on my Mage, although I plan to this week to really test my skills that I have honed for some time. What I have noticed in Heroics though is that DPS is certainly not as easy as most people make it out to be. Well, done correctly of course.

As Arcane I only have two spells I use A LOT, Arcane Blast and Arcane Missiles. However, once and again I will throw an Arcane Barrage into the mix if the circumstances allow. Now, without going into much detail on how to play Arcane, anyone could see that this is SIMPLISTIC, and in a sense it is somewhat.

Unless you are watching your procs, mana, stacks, and cool downs.

Oh and avoiding all possible incoming damage.

Maybe protecting the Healer from the idiotic Tanks that think they can hold a whole room of mobs but just forget to put their AOEs down.

The rotation of Arcane, although simple can change at any point, and can be as long as a whole fight depending on your luck with your procs. However, there is one thing that I have to watch like a hawk that I very rarely pay attention to as a Tank at any point, MANA.

Holy hell, if that stuff runs out I am done and must pray to the Ranged DPS gods for mercy in the form of Evocation/Mana Pot/Mana Gem, and sometimes the gods just do not like me.

That being said, there is a hell of a lot more that goes on in the mind of a DPS than just a simple rotation. And with that, I feel I have bettered myself as a Tank. I try 2x as hard not to move mobs out of range of the Ranged as it annoys the hell out of me when a Tank does it to me on Crando.

So the differences between playing a Ranged DPS and a Tank make the game a hell of a lot more enjoyable for me. I do get a bit worn out after Tanking a Raid, and heroic spamming, and the occasional PUG, so being able to do the same stuff but in a completely different perspective is very refreshing.

When in doubt, SLOWFALL UNTIL YOU HIT THE GROUND!

PvP

PvP is probably one of my favorite parts of my Mage at the moment. It’s not that I don’t like PvPing on Elnoriah, but it certainly is not half as fun as throwing massive ice balls and running around with a posse (Water Ele + Mirror Image for the WIN) as I destroy the damn Alliance dogs! To top it off, I find Caster PvP to be a bit more “my style” than running around with clunky armor and smacking wimps with a large Axe.

As I said before, I have always been a Caster at heart, and PvP is where my roots leak out. So in all honesty, Elnoriah I love yah but I think Crando took your spot as my PvP toon. Though that’s not to say I won’t smash some heads as a Death Knight either!

The first thing I noticed as I played my first BG with Mycosynth (Warlock friend of Alex and I) was that I am a hell of a lot more squishy, but I have some fun tools to play around with. The CC is a lot more useful, and I have a few more tricks up my sleeve than on the Death Knight. Although the Warlock/Mage team is VERY strong. Lots of CC and plenty of pew pew to go around.

So far it looks like Aff. Lock /Frost Mage for my 2’s team, which should be an interesting combination to fool around with, so I think I will write a bit more on that in the near future.

Caster PvP as opposed to Melee PvP, “OM NOM NOM” would be my response.

Conclusions

This was a bit of a personal post,and I think the filler was much needed. I really have not been focusing on WoW lately due to some RL things so there is not much to talk about. The Mage takes my mind off of the stresses of Tanking and makes the game fresh for me. And that is why I believe that everyone should have an alt, it helps keep the burnout to a minimum and can make your main that much more enjoyable!

Nonetheless we will be back on track starting tomorrow with the 3.3.2 Patch notes. Late as usual, but whatever!

Yes we did not get around to a new Operation post or a Podcast this week, so we are sorry. We do have an excuse though. This weekend was just busy for the two of us, and yesterday during the podcast time I was getting my braces off and I probably would not have been easily understood if I was talking anyways, so it was for the best.

Happy WoWing!
-Elno

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

