Skip to content

A Confession

October 7, 2009
by

I love you Craig.

But really, I have a real confession; my tank is no longer my main.

omg where he goes

omg where he goes

Yes, you heard it here; last time I seriously played my tank was about a month and a bit ago. So, what have I been playing? Well my Rogue of course! So I’m going to take a stab at talking about how Rogues can really shine in a raid situation.However, we’re going to start off with a reading from the Rogue Bible™.

And the Lord Chris Metzen said good Rogues don’t die.

This is the best thing you can do in a raid, and since almost all outgoing raid damage is avoidable in some way, I thought I’d cover one of the Rogue’s strengths; how to avoid that damage.

So let’s take a straight DPS fight like XT. He stands there, takes lots of damage during heart phases, and drops bombs on people. However, if you do this fight correctly, you can avoid a very large chunk of damage.

XT’s key abilities are Tympanic Tantrum and Gravity/Light Bomb. Tympanic Tantrum hits the whole raid with 2000 damage a hit and hits 8 times, and Gravity/Light bombs have bad effects on anyone around you. SO WHAT DO YOU DO?!

If you get a bomb on you, you Cloak of Skill, and if he Tympanic Tantrums use Feint. And for those who think that Feint just lowers your Threat, you’re wrong; at level 78, the newest rank also reduces damage taken from AoE by 50% for 6 seconds. These are your key damage reducing abilities, so USE THEM. I see way too many Rogues not using Feint, CoS or TotT, another very good skill. Not enough time to get out of a Lightning Nova? Feint. Whirlwinds one-shotting you in Naxx? Feint. These abilities really shine on the Koralon fight, where healers are already frantically topping everyone off. Feint through a Fire Breath, and make their lives that much easier, especially given that the Fire Breath hurts a ton.

Keep in mind one thing; Feint has a much lower cooldown than CoS, so if you’re trying to mitigate AoE damage, just Feint; save CoS for a better situation, like if you’re poisoned/Living Bombed/some other shitty situation.

And I hope to God I don’t have to go over Sprint or Evasion.

Next week, the next commandment: A Rogue is only as good as his weapons, spec, poisons, skill, keybinds, and tank.

Also, podcast this Thursday(?).

One Comment leave one →
  1. ambient permalink
    October 8, 2009 5:50 PM

    Thank you for pointing that out! I really powerleveled my way through the end of Northrend, so I was crabby that I took the time to run all the way to the trainer in Org at 78 and all I got was a level up on Feint. I didn’t notice the additional info in the tooltip! My pocket healer is going to love me when I bust this out in our next ToC run. ; )

Leave a Reply

