Skip to content

The Post in Which I Bump Down Craig’s.

November 6, 2009
by

Yes, I’m surrendering to the meme. May God Neptune have mercy on my soul.

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary dps?

Aifel, Mutilation (51/13/7) Rogue.

What is your primary dpsing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)

Raids, usually. I try to do arena when I can, which lately hasn’t been at all. Sowwy Craig. :(

What is your favorite dps spell/ability for your class and why?

This might sound silly, but Cloak of Shadows. I cannot tell you how many times I would’ve died if I didn’t have this ability, both in PVP and PVE.

What dps spell do you use least for your class and why?

Shiv, probably. Its just bad.

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your dps class and why?

Aside from being (arguably) the best melee DPS in the game right now, a good Rogue can also avoid lots and lots of outgoing raid damage through smart usage of Feint, Cloak of Shadows, and to a lesser extent Sprint.

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your dps class and why?

Just starting to raid and not knowing that Feint reduces incoming AoE by a very sizable chunk, and then getting WW’d by Naxx trash and dying. Over, and over, and over, and over, and over.

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best dps assignment for you?

Depends on the fight. If its Ony, well, Fan of Knives + Focused Attacks = lots and lots of energy. And constant 100 energy means more FoK. And, well, you get the idea. If its single target…

1. Start up HfB. If there’s someone else in the raid with bleeds wait for them to get to the boss first. Otherwise, do what I do (Mut twice and Rupture. Then use HfB.)

2. Start up Slice and Dice however you like.

3. Is Rupture up? If not, Rupture. Rupture at 4-5 combo points only.

4. Is Slice ‘n’ Dice about to fall off? If so, Envenom. Try to keep the Envenom buff up as much as possible, and try to Envenom at ~60 energy and at 4-5 combo points.

What dps class do you enjoy dpsing with most and why?

Frost Death Knights or Enhancement Shamans. Windfury/Imp. Icy Talons is fun in the sun.

What dps class do you enjoy dpsing with least and why?

Anyone bad who ignores advice.

What is your worst habit as a dps?

Not getting mad when we wipe. I guess its because I have too much fun raiding. Fuck.

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while dpsing?

People who criticize you for doing something they disagree with, people who constantly link DPS/healing meters, and the guy in Onyxia’s Lair with heirloom shoulders.

Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other dps?

Yes, though I think Combat might be a bit ahead at this point in the game. Also, I want another cooldown; Cold Blood and Vanish + Overkill just don’t compare to the awesome of Blade Flurry, Killing Spree and Adrenaline Rush.

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a dps?

Recount, Recount and Recount. If I perform well, I figure out what I did well and keep on doing it. The opposite applies too.

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your class?

Don’t really know; I don’t get a whole lot of complaints from my groups.

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new dpsers of your class to learn?

Knowing what stats are most effective, learning to keep up Slice ‘n’ Dice, knowing that you should Envenom as often as possible, knowing that you should always keep Tricks of the Trade off cooldown… The list goes on.

What dps class do you feel you understand least?

I think I have a pretty good understanding on all of them. I probably understand Retadins the least though, with the part I don’t understand being why they’re still playing one.

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in dps?

Clique (right-clicking on a raid member on Grid to put Tricks on them is always useful), OmniCC, Dominos, Recount, Rogue Power Bars, and a few more I can’t think of right now.

Agility over other stats or balanced stat allocation, and why?

Well, this is a silly question, now ain’t it.

Hit (before spell hit cap) > Exp (until dodge [26] capped) > Agility > Crit > Haste > ArP > AP. Keep in mind this only applies to Assassination; Combat EPs are basically the same, except Exp is worth less and ArP is worth more, once you have an ArPen trinket.

I <3 Elitist Jerks.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2009 5:39 PM

    Nice! Reading this reminds me of how long it’s been since I played my rogue (yes, he is at 80…). There’s stuff in here I just haven’t kept up with! Good work!

  2. randomrogue permalink
    November 13, 2009 10:46 PM

    Hey I noticed you mentioned that you mutilate twice and put up rupture. I just wanted to let you know that if you open up with garrote you can get hfb up and hop right into your rotation right away.The positioning may take a second longer but you should be letting the tank build some threat anyway. I find its better to put SND up before rupture but I suppose it might be different if you spec into serrated blades.

  3. Alex permalink
    November 15, 2009 2:16 PM

    I’d argue against that; the beginning of the fight typically starts with the tank getting aggro. Mutilating twice gives the tank a lot more Threat than a Garrote. And Garrote costs a lot of energy for just 1 CP.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

